Break-fast eh

Hi there 🙂 

Do you know that breakfast = breaking your fasting period during your sleeping time ?

When my friend told me about this, I was totally mindblown. Sometimes, I find it amazing to know how words are created/formed.

Anyway, it is a known fact that breakfast is important and we all know the benefits of it. I’m the type of person who seldom skip breakfast unless I wake up late or I’m irritated due to problems in choosing what to eat (lmao). It happened to me a week ago where I was so uncertain on what to eat for breakfast and many different food ideas popped up in my mind but they just didn’t stimulate my appetite. (It’s exactly the same scenario where I acted out in my video).

Q: So, how did you come up with the idea of making smoothie bowl?

A: When I was looking at the instagram posts in my insta newsfeed that evening, I saw a picture of acai smoothie bowl. It looked so so so tempting to me and then I decided to look up for recipe. I found out that the acai berries are originated from brazil and they are seldom found in Malaysia (tbh, i never see one real acai berry or frozen acai berries before). That’s when I decided to make alternative smoothie bowls replacing acai berries with other food ingredients. Ta-daaaaa, so I came up with these two smoothie bowls which I named them – Purple Power Bowl & Pump’ed the Bowl.

I love the smoothies very much because they really taste good. The bananas provide the natural sweetness to the smoothie. Personally, i like my food with mild sweetness but if you would like to level up the sweetness, do consider adding a bit of honey.

It is a combination of texture, creativity and taste which creates FUN and GOOD MOOD to start your day 🙂

The recipes of the two smoothies bowls are shown below and Oh! I have also calculated their nutrient content and also the price (based on Malaysian ringgit and market price in Malaysia) for all the ingredients required to make them.

IMG_4112


A. Purple power bowl – 2 servings

Nutrient content (1 serving):

  • Energy – 355kcal
  • Carbohydrate – 70.2g
  • Protein – 13.2g
  • Fat – 4.6g
  • Fibre – 7g

Ingredients needed: 

-Base:

1 banana

200mL of low fat milk

2 medium Japanese sweet potato

-Topping:

1/4 slice of papaya

1/4 slice of pineapple

80g muesli

Price based on 1 serving : RM3.35

Instructions:

-The day before:

  1. Cut banana and sweet potato into chunks
  2. Cut pineapple and papaya into small pieces (if not, they may sink into the smoothie)
  3. Keep the banana into the freezer and keep the rest  ( except muesli) into the refrigerator.

-On that day:

4. Blend the frozen banana, sweet potato and milk together using a blender.

5. Splash your creativity on top of the smoothie bowl with the topping ingredients.


B. Pump’ed the Bowl – 2 servings

Nutrient content (1 serving):

  • Energy – 394kcal
  • Carbohydrate – 70.3g
  • Protein – 12.9g
  • Fat – 4.9g
  • Fibre – 4.7g

Ingredients needed:

-Base:

2  bananas

200mL of low fat milk

1.5 cup / ~300g of  pumpkin

-Topping:

1/4 avocado

1/4 apple

80g muesli

Price based on 1 serving : RM3.55

Instructions:

-The day before:

  1. Cut banana and pumpkin into chunks
  2. Cut avocado and apple into small cubes (big cubes are heavy, they may sink into the smoothie)
  3. Keep the banana and pumpkin into the freezer and keep the rest  ( except muesli) into the refrigerator.

-On that day:

4. Blend the frozen banana, sweet potato and milk together using a blender.

5. Spice up your smoothie bowl with the topping ingredients and your creativity.


If you have any doubt or face any problem, do not hesitate to approach me, I’m more than willing to help!

Till next time 🙂

 

 

 

About Angeline Lee

Hi there. I'm the creator of all the content. Thank you for dropping by!
This entry was posted in Videos. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

